using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Topics and questions about power supplies

using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby Turn » Mon 15. Oct 2012, 02:23

100A+ continuous output
2.6KW
choice of 24V or 12V outputs (either @108A)
Regulated and stable.
$30

How can one do better than this? Thanks to all those who recommended this route. Much appreciated.

I just ordered two pairs, so now have 216A and 5.2KW regulated 24VDC output. $60. Why not, eh? Just don't touch the wrong two wires together...

(using HP PROLIANT DL580/ML570G3 parts converted the "proper" way to 24V by isolating DC output grounds)
User avatar
Turn
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 24. Sep 2012, 05:54
Location: Calgary, Canada
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby motiondave » Mon 15. Oct 2012, 02:41

as long as it powers the motors well, anything that does the job will work.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby MattyB » Sun 9. Dec 2012, 03:18

Hi Guys,
My SCN5 power supply from Frex has crapped it, I have a Zalman 850w modular power supply for my PC-

Features & Specifications
- Dual Heatpipes Installed for Maximum Cooling Performance and Ultra-Quiet Operation
- Improved Power Factor & Reduced Harmonics through Active PFC
- High Efficiency Design and 80 PLUS Certified
- Ultra Quiet 140mm Fan
- Standby Noise Filter Switch
- Six Independent +12VDC Outputs
- Gold-Plated Terminals & 16AWG Wires
- Sleeved Cables
- Multiple Safety Features : Over-Voltage Protection, Over-Current Protection, Short-Circuit Protection, Under-Voltage Protection, Over- Temperature Protection
- WEEE & RoHS

Could i use one of these outputs to power up the twin SCN5's?
If so, does anyone have a wiring diagram that could be used as a guide as I would need to wire in the emergency stop as well?

My current power outputs are for the following -
-i7 3820 CPU @3.6GHz
-Gigabyte GTX 670 overclocked edition graphics card.

If not practical, could someone suggest a PSU capable of dealing with the twins?

Thanks in advance!
Regards,
MattyB
MattyB
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 26
Images: 5
Joined: Thu 6. Dec 2012, 11:10
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby motiondave » Sun 9. Dec 2012, 09:57

I thought scn5's were 24v?
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby MattyB » Sun 9. Dec 2012, 10:34

Yeah I worked it out...
I re-posted to avoid Highjacking this guys post...

Cheers for your answer though :D
Regards,
MattyB
MattyB
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 26
Images: 5
Joined: Thu 6. Dec 2012, 11:10
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby prodigy » Sun 9. Dec 2012, 10:50

Turn wrote:100A+ continuous output
2.6KW
choice of 24V or 12V outputs (either @108A)
Regulated and stable.
$30


Where did you order them?
User avatar
prodigy
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 274
Images: 42
Joined: Tue 16. Oct 2012, 12:32
Location: Pula, Croatia
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: using server PSU-any better bang-for-buck??

Postby Turn » Sun 9. Dec 2012, 19:58

This 1300W, 108A at 12V one is very loud. It was $15 : http://www.ebay.ca/itm/280969367937?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649
(PSU from HP DL580 server)

This 575W, or 47A at 12V is compact and quiet. $20: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/261046895122?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649
(PSU from HP Proliant DL380 G4 server)

I'd recommend the second one if that's powerful enough for you. They're all over eBay.

Please note that while I have ordered and received both, I have not used either to power a DC motor yet. So, I can't claim anything about their suitability in a motion sim yet.
User avatar
Turn
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon 24. Sep 2012, 05:54
Location: Calgary, Canada
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to Power supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron