power source from a computer question

Topics and questions about power supplies

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby motiondave » Tue 28. Aug 2012, 00:04

Pablo wrote:Hi Ferlash, one psu 650w connected to two motors :roll: and still works ... must be of good quality PSU !

Regards


That is technically a 54 amp power supply, but that actually depends on what the 12v rails are.
Also his motors are connected to the shoulders have less weight to move so they can use less power.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby Roadster2 » Tue 28. Aug 2012, 00:44

telfel wrote:hi

I have a couple of server power supplies, which are easy to convert and can give 12 volt @ 50amps upwards, depending on the power supply.
these power supplies are cheap and available on ebay.

links for more info

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1292514

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309

regards Terry


Hi Terry. Many thanks for those links. The information found there, and the subsequent links referenced there have proved invaluable. I had been looking at using a couple of Proliant Server power supplies but hadn't been able to confirm what was needed to get them running as stand-alone +12V power supplies. That's well sorted now. The drawback is the high fan noise but I have plenty to read in the 114 pages on the one forum so I'm sure there will be something there to resolve that as well.

Very grateful thanks ...
Roadster2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu 19. Apr 2012, 18:36
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby floriske » Tue 28. Aug 2012, 09:00

ferslash wrote:good point...

i will check prices


fer

I already posted prices earlier in this topic ;)

30A ($28.96 - Free shipping) These are the ones I have now and killed one of them with my new bigger motors (my wipermotors worked perfect with them though!):
http://www.ebay.com/itm/High-Quality-12 ... 231bd2ab98

40A ($54.99 - Free shipping):
http://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-40A-500W-Re ... 1e6c890558

45A ($62,99 - Free shipping) These are the ones I ordered for my new motors:
http://www.ebay.nl/itm/12V-45A-600W-Swi ... 5ae92a13a5
I am no longer an admin/active moderator at http://www.x-sim.de. Please contact one of the other admins or moderators if you have any questions. Thank you!

My sim-project: Floriske.nl's 2DOF Playseat GT Wiper motor Project (sold)
User avatar
floriske
 
Posts: 238
Images: 96
Joined: Mon 2. Jul 2012, 10:23
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby ne02005 » Mon 16. Sep 2013, 14:38

I´m trying with a Thermalteke PSU 600w, but just works a few moments, the psu shut downs all the time.. what coud it be?
User avatar
ne02005
 
Posts: 36
Images: 0
Joined: Fri 13. Jul 2012, 22:00
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby ferslash » Wed 18. Sep 2013, 06:04

i got a similar issue, and it was because i had a short circuit... so the psu protects it selve

best regards
ferslash
 
Posts: 226
Images: 4
Joined: Tue 3. Jul 2012, 18:08
Location: Mexico, Guadalajara
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby telfel » Wed 18. Sep 2013, 07:55

ne02005 wrote:I´m trying with a Thermalteke PSU 600w, but just works a few moments, the psu shut downs all the time.. what coud it be?


Perhaps your using too much power to get back to the future lol :P

Are you using a battery in the circuit?

regards Terry
User avatar
telfel
 
Posts: 108
Images: 54
Joined: Thu 22. Mar 2012, 19:05
Location: Borders Scotland UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Previous

Return to Power supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest