power source from a computer question

Topics and questions about power supplies

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby floriske » Sun 26. Aug 2012, 17:24

Lol! Actually just killed one of the 30A psu's testing my new motors @ 27, 5A (no white smoke though ;) )

Hope I can fix it, but already ordered 2 of these instead:

http://www.ebay.nl/itm/12V-45A-600W-Swi ... 5ae92a13a5

Gives me a bit more overhead :D
I am no longer an admin/active moderator at http://www.x-sim.de. Please contact one of the other admins or moderators if you have any questions. Thank you!

My sim-project: Floriske.nl's 2DOF Playseat GT Wiper motor Project (sold)
User avatar
floriske
 
Posts: 238
Images: 96
Joined: Mon 2. Jul 2012, 10:23
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby ferslash » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 16:51

Ups!!! i got to be carefull,

i was searching for a dedicated power supply like the ones florinke mentioned, but... they cost more than $100 usdlls here in mexico it is crazy...!


and a finnal question.... so no one is using a computer psu to feed the motors??? no one? i mean... it is almost sure that if i use a psu i will burn it?

best regards

fer
ferslash
 
Posts: 226
Images: 4
Joined: Tue 3. Jul 2012, 18:08
Location: Mexico, Guadalajara
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby Roadster2 » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 17:03

It's possible to use a PC power supply, particularly if that's all you have access to within a reasonable price. The power supply requires a connection to a mainboard in order to work but this can be cheated by connecting together a couple of the cables. There is plenty of info on this available from a web search.

If you can, get one of the later power supplies with dual rail or quad rail +12V lines. Just check the specifications of current ratings on the +12V lines and get as high a current capability as you can.

Good luck with your search.
Roadster2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu 19. Apr 2012, 18:36
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby telfel » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 18:50

hi

I have a couple of server power supplies, which are easy to convert and can give 12 volt @ 50amps upwards, depending on the power supply.

these power supplies are cheap and available on ebay.

links for more info

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1292514

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1005309

regards Terry
User avatar
telfel
 
Posts: 108
Images: 54
Joined: Thu 22. Mar 2012, 19:05
Location: Borders Scotland UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby floriske » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 19:50

@ferslash: why not order them from China on ebay? Ok, takes a few weeks for them to arrive, but saves a lot of money as well.
I am no longer an admin/active moderator at http://www.x-sim.de. Please contact one of the other admins or moderators if you have any questions. Thank you!

My sim-project: Floriske.nl's 2DOF Playseat GT Wiper motor Project (sold)
User avatar
floriske
 
Posts: 238
Images: 96
Joined: Mon 2. Jul 2012, 10:23
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby ferslash » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 19:53

good point...

i will check prices


fer
ferslash
 
Posts: 226
Images: 4
Joined: Tue 3. Jul 2012, 18:08
Location: Mexico, Guadalajara
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby Pablo » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 20:18

Hello, I'm using a 650W PC power supply, my simulator is the type Frex, just move the seat and weight 70 kg., If the balance is right, it works great
In my country the cost of other sources is very high, so I decided to use a PC power supply ...

Regards
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18
Images: 2
Joined: Thu 10. May 2012, 01:07
Location: Argentina
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby ferslash » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 21:34

Pablo:

How are you using your psu? one psu 650w connected to two motors or one psu 680w to each motor?

best regards fer
ferslash
 
Posts: 226
Images: 4
Joined: Tue 3. Jul 2012, 18:08
Location: Mexico, Guadalajara
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby motiondave » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 23:11

I used to run computer PSU's when I had wipers, but they were spare PSU's I had. They originally only cost me $30 each.
However, the PSU's only really put out 18 amps at 12v. So I had one per motor. This worked ok, but they would still trip out from time to time.
Here in Australia, I decided to buy a proper benchtop power supply via ebay or when they are on special at radio ham shops and electronic shops.
That and I didnt have to chop up a perfectly good computer PSU.
The neater option is 2 power supplies.
The cheaper option is one power and one car battery in parallel.
Now with the big worm gear motors, I just run one 13.8v 32 amp power supply and one car battery rated at 405 CCA in parallel. Plenty of current for big spikes.
Floriske is on the right idea about 2 BIG power supplies for his big motors.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: power source from a computer question

Postby Pablo » Mon 27. Aug 2012, 23:35

Hi Ferlash, one psu 650w connected to two motors :roll: and still works ... must be of good quality PSU !

Regards
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 18
Images: 2
Joined: Thu 10. May 2012, 01:07
Location: Argentina
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Power supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron