AC Motor Choice

Topics and questions about wipers, winches etc.

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby vicpopo » Fri 18. Jan 2013, 22:04

Salut Arno,

Super , cela avance et je trouve que tu fais bien de faire ces tests et de les diffuser.

Great job , you are on the right way and many thanks for sharing your tests!! :lol:

That give you big thrust for your project.What will have big influence also with Thanos amc are the PID settings and first the KP parameter and second the refresh rate .Thanos could achieve 1ms and you can feel everything on the track!!

Best Regards
User avatar
vicpopo
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Fri 20. Apr 2012, 18:04
Location: Strasbourg France
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby Arno » Sat 19. Jan 2013, 00:38

Merci Gilles,

Oui, ça avance en effet, petit à petit.
C'est important pour moi de partager les tests parce que cela donne des idées aux autres, et on peut tous améliorer nos simulateurs comme ça.
Merci pour le soutien et les encouragements.

Yes, indeed, it moves forward, albeit slowly.
It is important for me to share these results because it gives ideas to other people, and we therefore all get better simulators.

Furthermore, like you indicated, it is a sort of validation for me that the components I am choosing are right for this application.
It would be unfortunate to spend money on building a simulator that is slow and therefore not fun to ride...

These first results were quite critical for me.
My goal was to be able to raise 100 pounds without issues.
I demonstrated that it works, although the test bench was quite poor. :-)
i was a bit worried on the last test that everything would break in pieces and crash on my office floor...

More importantly, I would have never thought that I could do this with a 0.25HP motor.
I was aiming for a 1.5HP motor, and was really surprised by these results.

I think that in the end, i will settle on a 0.5HP motor.
That should give me everything i need, and have some overhead.
This is also good because it means that the entire simulator (4DOF or 6DOF) can be powered by a single 240V, 30A outlet.
I have such an outlet easily available in my house.

So far, I have only used the basic controls that the VFD is giving me, START and STOP.
I imagine that once I use the boards from Thanos, I will be able to have a much finer control of the motion.

By the way, for people who are not sure how to get 240V in your house, (in the US), most dryer plugs in the US are 240V, 30A.
This should give plenty of power to get started.
PLEASE BE CAREFUL!
This is serious power, don't come to me if you got shocked or burned your house down... :-(

Talk to you soon.
Arno
Arno
 
Posts: 62
Images: 5
Joined: Thu 29. Nov 2012, 04:40
Location: TX, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby motiondave » Sat 19. Jan 2013, 08:37

240 v at 30 amps :o
Standard is 10 amps here , unless you get a separate wire run to the appropriate power point.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby Arno » Sat 19. Jan 2013, 15:52

10Amps?
10A is about twice what a nice hairdryer will take.
Maybe electric dryers are not common in Australia but gas is usually used?

Also, I believe that Electric stoves or ovens may have a 50A circuit in the US.

Arno
Arno
 
Posts: 62
Images: 5
Joined: Thu 29. Nov 2012, 04:40
Location: TX, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby tronicgr » Sat 19. Jan 2013, 16:59

The standard taps on countries that have 220v-240v electricity are rated for 10A to 13A. But you could always use more that one tap (combination of fuses from the circuit breaker).

Better than 240A (40A x 6 motors) if you were attempting a 6DOF with DC motors!!! :lol:
User avatar
tronicgr
 
Posts: 624
Images: 11
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 22:10
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby Roadster2 » Sat 19. Jan 2013, 20:50

tronicgr wrote:The standard taps on countries that have 220v-240v electricity are rated for 10A to 13A. But you could always use more that one tap (combination of fuses from the circuit breaker).


Domestic Ring Main circuits in the UK can supply up to 30A but the 13A wall sockets are obviously not designed for this and drawing this much current from one point would of course mean that you wouldn't want anything else plugged in on the same circuit. A higher current circuit would be available in the kitchen if you were using gas cooking appliances instead of electric, but then the wife wouldn't be too happy about siting the sim rig in the kitchen :)
Roadster2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu 19. Apr 2012, 18:36
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby motiondave » Sun 20. Jan 2013, 00:42

That's right. Obviously electric ovens and air conditioning systems have a much higher current available to them.
My air con sucks 72 amps on start up, mind you, that's in 1/2 a second at 240 v ( haven't got 415 in the house ) and it runs about 12-20 amps constant after that.
Electric dryers - not sure what you mean there.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby Arno » Sun 20. Jan 2013, 06:20

Electric Dryers was in reference to clothes dryers.
In the US, they come as gas dryers or electric dryers...

Arno
Arno
 
Posts: 62
Images: 5
Joined: Thu 29. Nov 2012, 04:40
Location: TX, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby motiondave » Sun 20. Jan 2013, 09:27

Arno wrote:Electric Dryers was in reference to clothes dryers.
In the US, they come as gas dryers or electric dryers...

Arno


Yes we have clothes dryers here as well. They suck usually 2400 - 3500 watts or more depending on size of unit at the home. I dont have one for obvious reasons, too damn expensive to run
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: AC Motor Choice

Postby motiondave » Sun 20. Jan 2013, 10:38

I just looked back on this post,
0.5 hp = about 330 watts
1.5 hp = 1110 watts,
240v at 2400 watts is 10 amps.
Sure if you go 4-6 motors then, 330 x 6= 1980 watts, so a 2400 watts outlet would do it.
Because they are high voltage motors, compared to 12v, you have a lot more grunt at your disposal. Unless you are planning to lift the frame purely with the motors, this could be done easily with 0.5 hp motors that are geared right for torque.
no I do not have an idea as to what gearboxes, this has probably been covered.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

PreviousNext

Return to Motors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest