SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Topics and questions about wipers, winches etc.

SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby Carl » Sun 2. Mar 2014, 16:08

Hi all and thanks in advance for any advice.

I am just about to upgrade my motors and purchase a pair of SCN6's 50kgf with 150mm travel. The million dollar question is do I order npn or pnp IO type. I already own a very good 10a 24v Calex PSU which should be man enough for both motors and was planning on buying some RS485 to USB adapters.

So back to the question, pnp or npn? What should I get. Thanks for any help
Carl
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 59
Images: 115
Joined: Sun 29. Jul 2012, 19:13
Location: North Hampshire UK
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby Carl » Fri 7. Mar 2014, 18:41

Well I've gone and ordered the pnp version... hope its right. Decided to go for the 40kgf as they had a much better speed and power profile with 150mm throw. Cannot wait until they arrive.
Carl
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 59
Images: 115
Joined: Sun 29. Jul 2012, 19:13
Location: North Hampshire UK
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby xsimka » Thu 30. Oct 2014, 18:04

Carl wrote:Well I've gone and ordered the pnp version... hope its right. Decided to go for the 40kgf as they had a much better speed and power profile with 150mm throw. Cannot wait until they arrive.


Need some SCN 6 actuator - npn or pnp?
User avatar
xsimka
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 30. Oct 2014, 13:59
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby xsimka » Thu 30. Oct 2014, 18:05

xsimka wrote:
Carl wrote:Well I've gone and ordered the pnp version... hope its right. Decided to go for the 40kgf as they had a much better speed and power profile with 150mm throw. Cannot wait until they arrive.


what must SCN 6 actuator - npn or pnp?
User avatar
xsimka
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 30. Oct 2014, 13:59
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby sirnoname » Thu 30. Oct 2014, 21:23

The software supports both ;)
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1808
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby xsimka » Fri 31. Oct 2014, 20:19

sirnoname wrote:The software supports both ;)

ok then what is better ??? :roll:
User avatar
xsimka
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 30. Oct 2014, 13:59
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SCN6 actuator - npn or pnp?

Postby weeedy » Thu 28. Jul 2016, 21:45

Seems to be your own choice ... sometimes, PNP is regarded as the safer of the two options, because ground faults could have the effect that NPN sensors send the wrong signal.

Found this info on german shopping site http://de.rs-online.com/web/generalDisp ... on/npn-pnp
weeedy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 27. Jul 2016, 15:54
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Motors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests