My 6DOF built with linear servo motor

Running simulator build projects.
Please use the image gallery for your pictures, a short tutorial can be found here.
The first image in the first post will be shown in the project gallery.

My 6DOF built with linear servo motor

Postby itonylee » Mon 18. Mar 2019, 18:09

This project start at early 2017 and finally I got the result I want recently (early 2019). It took me nearly 2 years for this project and there are still plenty to improve in my opinion. I am a race car engineer, I design and built off road rally vehicle (like these on Dakar BAJA racing) and race in China. Therefore, from the very beginning, I was looking to build a simulation platform that can closely simulate the real race vehicle. I was looking for a functional built instead of a fancy one.

The original idea was really simple, I was plan to purchase a 6DOF platform and put a commercial available racing seat on top of it. I contact a local Chinese company who specialize in making industry motion platform. They have this small foot print size platform that available for me. I personal found this platform looks too ugly and decide to design my own platform and just use their linear servo hardware.

The original platform is ugly.....

The design process was pretty straight forward, I design a tube chassis with 1.25” seamless tube. It is very strong but also very light weight design. The design was done on Solidworks and it only take few days of drawing and I also run few pass of motion simulation to see if there any interference between components. I intentional design the platform with lower center of gravity, so it will be easier to climb in and out.

My first design was pretty simple..

The final design

The tubes were then CNC notched and bend along with some laser cut and bend sheet metal. These pre-notched tubes are then place on our jig table and we welded them up. The actual built process only take 2~3 days, it was relatively easy job for my shop.