My 2DOF Wiper Motor project

Running simulator build projects.
Please use the image gallery for your pictures, a short tutorial can be found here.
The first image in the first post will be shown in the project gallery.

My 2DOF Wiper Motor project

Postby jesselocks » Thu 15. Nov 2018, 23:48

So I got a Thrustmaster T300RS to use on Driveclub VR on PSVR. It was pretty fun for a bit, but I got tired of the gameplay pretty quick. So, I took my PSVR to the PC, installed Trinus PSVR, got it dialed in the best I could and installed Project Cars 2. A huge improvement over Driveclub! The FFB is so much more real and the game in general is a lot better. At this point, I set out to build a cockpit. I wanted something that wouldn't require welding so I decided aluminum extrusion was the best option. This stuff can be bolted together and is pretty damn sturdy.

I started in Fusion 360 which can be downloaded for free from here:
https://www.autodesk.com/products/fusion-360/free-trial
If you register as a hobbyist/student, you can use the software for free, beyond the trial period.

I Googled around to find models for the T300RS, shifter, pedals and chair. The models for the extrusions can be downloaded from the Misumi website. I've usd this supplier before, when I bought extrusions for my AM8 3D Printer upgrade and was happy with the speed and quality. The cool thing about their website is that many of their product pages have a link for "CAD Download".
https://us.misumi-ec.com/vona2/detail/1 ... 50/?Inch=0

Once I had the models I wanted, I imported into Fusion 360 and started building my cockpit.

Once I had everything where I wanted it, I new exactly what parts/size I needed and I placed my order on Misumi.

To put the extrusions together, you need brackets, bolts and nuts. I got the brackets for cheap on eBay, but I'll admit that the ones sold by Misumi work better and can be attached from more angles.
Bolts - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H ... UTF8&psc=1