Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby motiondave » Thu 7. Jun 2012, 14:56

I found with the current dirt games that motion varies from track to track and car to car anyway.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby motiondave » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 02:33

OK, LFS works on dirt showdown great, no crashes. Just copy paste the LFS plugin and outsim into the program folder after installing the game. Change the hardware config file line with <motion enabled="true" ip="127.0.0.1" port="4123" delay="1" extradata="0" and go racing!
The motion will be harsh, its demo derby stuff!
All good here!
Thanks everyone for the help
Last edited by motiondave on Fri 8. Jun 2012, 03:10, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby motiondave » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 02:48

I also found that the game tends to go black screen in between loading tracks, so if I hit cntrl alt del, it has a moment then the game recovers, dunno about that one.

I am running version 1.0 of the game, so maybe a patch will fix that.

Hang on, I noticed that I had malawarebytes running in the background. I will disable that next time I play. Norton doesnt conflict, but I found some other antivirus programs do.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby value1 » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 07:55

A little bit OT: I was wondering if Showdown was worth it. By the sound of it it's more for fighting than a ralley game.
Any opinions so far? And are the tracks longer again than in Dirt³? The wait-for-loading vs racing times were somewhat imbalanced for my gusto.
T.
User avatar
value1
 
Posts: 69
Images: 3
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 14:18
Location: Zug, Switzerland
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby Riton » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 08:00

cool!!
User avatar
Riton
X-Sim Supporter
 
Posts: 291
Images: 70
Joined: Mon 7. May 2012, 16:05
Location: France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby sirnoname » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 10:17

What is about the other solutions?
It could be better.
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1751
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby motiondave » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 15:18

value1 wrote:A little bit OT: I was wondering if Showdown was worth it. By the sound of it it's more for fighting than a ralley game.
Any opinions so far? And are the tracks longer again than in Dirt³? The wait-for-loading vs racing times were somewhat imbalanced for my gusto.
T.


Yes you are right, its not a rally game, but more a demolition derby dirt track racing and gymkana game, real arcade style. Cars are auto transmission with no adjustment. Tracks are short and stadium style. There is not much skill, although getting shook around on demo derby events makes it tricky to play. Its good for entertainment on an arcade level. I like it as I have been looking for a arcade game for motion.
Play the demo and see how you go. it doesn't take that long to load, even with its "moments of stalling" Just enjoy it as a "jump in and go" game. Races take about 2-5 minutes, so quick action.
The wait for loading , as said, may be related to the malabytes software running in the background. I will disable it next time I play and check the results.
Last edited by motiondave on Fri 8. Jun 2012, 15:22, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby motiondave » Fri 8. Jun 2012, 15:20

sirnoname wrote:What is about the other solutions?
It could be better.


Well as an arcade derby game, I expect the motion to be a bit nasty of which it is. Demo derby is a real smasher! The LFS plugin works perfectly for motion.
As said, I need to figure out why it has "moments" between loading, as said, probably related to anti virus software running in the background. I will check on this tomorrow.
But a great arcade game if anyone is looking for one.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works but game crashes

Postby motiondave » Sat 9. Jun 2012, 15:08

OK, sorted, some bugs, I needed to add the game exe to the firewall. Antivirus wasnt the issue.
Also with game loading between races, it only seems to do it on certain events, but I found on my pc, be patient, if it stalls, it can take up to 30 seconds, but still loads. This will probably be fixed once codemasters releases a patch, which will probably bugger the motion.
User avatar
motiondave
 
Posts: 997
Images: 1
Joined: Tue 20. Mar 2012, 16:36
Location: Sydney Australia
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Dirt showdown works....and sorting issues

Postby sirnoname » Mon 11. Jun 2012, 00:08

I think the goal is to find a running extradata=1 solution with all features.
If a answer is correct or did help you for a solution, please use the solve button.
User avatar
sirnoname
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1751
Images: 45
Joined: Thu 1. Sep 2011, 22:02
Location: Munich, Germany
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 122 times

PreviousNext

Return to Dirt

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron